March 13th 2017

When I established the forums in 2005 it was to offer a more richer web experience and greater functionality than the platform where we started this social adventure in 2003, Yahoo Groups. The forums were once a busy hive of activity and provided locals and visitors with a wealth of information just like the Geocaching Ireland Discussion Group on Facebook today.

It was a time where we didn't have the many social media platforms we have today, and it was a different time in terms of mobility and technology. There was no instant access to information, no Google Maps and a very limited base map on your GPSr. Mobile connectivity for me was a 9600bps Infrared connection from a Nokia to a laptop and in later times to a PDA using WAP.

As we moved into the social media era so did our forums users. Geocaching Ireland moved there too, and we have a thriving community on the Geocaching Ireland Discussion Group on Facebook. As a result, forum activity isn't what it used to be and I have taken the decision to disable new registrations to the forums and to make the forums read only so any information there can still be accessed.

The discussion hasn't ended, it has just moved. Join us on the Facebook Geocaching Ireland Discussion Group .

Donnacha

Setting a cache before you've logged any

Geocache Placement and Review Discussions

Moderator: GCI Admins

Post Reply [phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
fitzet
Lugnaquillia 925m
Lugnaquillia 925m
Posts: 207
Joined: Mon May 17, 2010 12:44 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by fitzet » Wed Aug 31, 2011 1:26 pm

I came across an example of this today. Someone has set a cache without having recorded any finds on the site.

This struck me as unusual. Furthermore, I believe one should not set a cache 'til you have reached some set number of finds, i.e. get some experience and recognise the features of good cache placement.

User avatar
SaaX
Great Sugarloaf 501m
Great Sugarloaf 501m
Posts: 42
Joined: Tue Jan 15, 2008 9:13 am
Location: Kinvara, Co. Galway
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by SaaX » Wed Aug 31, 2011 3:11 pm

It might only look like that - it could be a cacher that placed it using a separate GC account. Example: http://coord.info/GC7473

johnrm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by johnrm » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:35 pm

Heres one...
http://coord.info/GC2C1EM

I think the owner of the castle placed it.
Apparently he spent an awful lot of money on the castle, but it is worth the tour as it is pretty impressive.

THE_Chris
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2007 7:27 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by THE_Chris » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:59 pm

Been to that one, the grounds are quite expansive. I suspected it was the castle owner, as the cache page basically says "hop the fence if its closed".

barraseaclaid
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by barraseaclaid » Wed Aug 31, 2011 10:04 pm

there is a thread on gc.com about this something along the lines of an induction for new cachers/ that a certain number of finds must be achieved before the ability to hide a cache is unlocked on accounts but at the end of the day gc.com is a business and this "restriction" may limit their business!

on the other point this guy only has one find but has three rather impressive hides.....


http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid ... 8105d&ds=2

abbeyackbar
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 484
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2009 2:15 pm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by abbeyackbar » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:04 pm

This has over 2,000 votes on the Feedback forum,
New cacher must pass an online "Groundspeak" course to be approved to hide their first geocache.
http://feedback.geocaching.com/forums/7 ... peak-cours
Apparently this is under review.

I don't think the online course idea would beat hands-on experience. It would be better if a certain number of caches had to be found before one could be hidden. There's always the exception to the rule but in those circumstances it could be up to the Reviewer or Groundspeak to approve it.
Image

johnrm
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by johnrm » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:09 am

Lots of guys that build Aeroplanes don't actually fly them...

Blue Jay
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 1027
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:18 am
Location: Blanchardstown, West Dublin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by Blue Jay » Thu Sep 01, 2011 9:53 am

Some of the best caches that we've found - most ingenious hides - have been by a guy in Nevada who has very little finds.
But I do agree in the majority of cases finds of around 50 would give a good idea to as member as to what's expected / or what makes a "good" cache.
Image

"Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative" - Oscar Wilde

kersti.com
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by kersti.com » Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:00 am

johnrm wrote:Lots of guys that build Aeroplanes don't actually fly them...
True, but you'd hope that they've at least done a fair few years of training before they start building them and def before they start designing them.

User avatar
Spark_ie
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 882
Joined: Tue Dec 18, 2007 12:01 pm
Location: Corkonian, lost in Dublin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by Spark_ie » Thu Sep 01, 2011 11:54 am

kersti.com wrote:
johnrm wrote:Lots of guys that build Aeroplanes don't actually fly them...
True, but you'd hope that they've at least done a fair few years of training before they start building them and def before they start designing them.


:lol: :lol: :lol:
Image

barraseaclaid
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by barraseaclaid » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:46 am

@eileen linky perhaps????

User avatar
TXLiz
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 2535
Joined: Tue Sep 21, 2010 5:16 pm
Location: Austin, TX
Contact:

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by TXLiz » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:16 am

c'mon..it's not rocket science :?
:arrow: What came first...the cache or the cacher
Image
~Strangely Strange But Oddly Normal~

medic143
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by medic143 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:38 am

@Barry

http://www.geocaching.com/profile/?guid ... ccdfa&ds=2

This is the profile you're looking for. Any cache called pinky from his list.

Blue Jay
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 1027
Joined: Fri Oct 16, 2009 12:18 am
Location: Blanchardstown, West Dublin
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by Blue Jay » Fri Sep 02, 2011 11:13 am

Medic is correct - also Penn & Teller cache was brilliant
Image

"Consistency is the last refuge of the unimaginative" - Oscar Wilde

mr.-oda
Lugnaquillia 925m
Lugnaquillia 925m
Posts: 243
Joined: Mon Jan 02, 2012 5:57 pm
Location: Callan, Co. Kilkenny
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by mr.-oda » Sat Mar 03, 2012 8:36 pm

This one definitely acted like he or she didn't have a clue about the game. No permission nor a good enough hide.
http://thedisneyblog.com/2012/03/03/dis ... omb-scare/
Image

klossner
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Carrauntoohil 1039m
Posts: 462
Joined: Wed Feb 27, 2008 5:04 am
Location: Rivergrove, Oregon
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by klossner » Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:16 pm

I don't think this would make much of a dent in the problem. The vast majority of the terrible awful no-good caches I've encountered were placed by cachers with many finds.

Donmoore
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Re: Setting a cache before you've logged any

Post by Donmoore » Tue Mar 06, 2012 2:48 pm

This was not a geocache. It was another game.

Post Reply
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable
[phpBB Debug] PHP Warning: in file [ROOT]/vendor/twig/twig/lib/Twig/Extension/Core.php on line 1266: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest